I can definitely understand how it could be triggering. For me, it was actually relieving to read about the Connection survival style and recognize myself in it, because it gave me a sense of recognition, order, and understanding.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .